The High Chaparral

* Legend 2008
* Community
* Home
* Articles
* Laughter Lines
* Convention
* Competition
* TN News
* Interviews
* Reviews
* Water Cooler
* Previews
* Other Events
* Links
* Search
Karon Hollis dons her Stetson, saddles up and "Yee-Haws" off into the distance...

The High Chaparral

The High Chaparral was one of the most successful westerns ever created. It was created by David Dortort and premiered on television on 10 September 1967 running right through the sixties to its last telecast on 12 March 1971.

The series was named after the ranch in Arizona where the Cannon family lived and worked during the 1870s. The series was set around John Cannon (played by Leif Erickson) and his struggle to establish a cattle empire in the rugged, Apache-infested land. He was aided and abetted by his younger brother Buck, who could out-drink, outshoot, outfight, and when motivated, outwork any man alive. Big John's son Billy Blue was a young man in his early 20's, whose mother was killed in the very first episode. After his first wife's death, John married an aristocratic Spanish beauty, Victoria Montoya, daughter of Don Sebastian Montoya. Although this was an arranged marriage, it soon turns to be one of substance and trust. Manolito (Victorias brother) also moves to the Cannon ranch and becomes a permanent part of the household.

The series was created and produced by David Dortort, the same man who brought us Bonanza. The High Chaparral moved away from the slightly soapier feel of Bonanza and instead gave us more action and biting dialogue. Effort was made that everything would be as real as possible... the sweat, the dirt, the desert...even the Apaches who worked on the set as extras and that was very unusual for the time.

While it aired, The High Chaparral consistently remained in the Top 20 of the Neilson Ratings, despite gaining a reputation for being too violent. It was a Number One programme in Europe, and is still a popular favourite due to almost continuous repeats worldwide.

The series was filmed on location in the old movie town of Old Tucson, built as an authentic replica of 1870 Tucson for the 1939 movie, Arizona. (The Old town still stands and was more recently used as the backdrop for other series such as the Young Riders) Several of the local area ranches served as backdrop for most of the off-set locations. The series strove for a realism that was not often encountered at the time. Its attention to detail is probably one of the reason why it is still so fondly remembered today.

For further information you can visit the excellent website at

Episodes and air dates

Season One
The High Chaparral10 September 1967
The Arrangement10 September 1967
The Ghost of Chaparral17 September 1967
Best Man for the Job24 September 1967
A Quiet Day in Tucson1 October 1967
Young Blood 8 October 1967
Shadows on the Land15 October 1967
The Filibusteros22 October 1967
The Doctor from Dodge 29 October 1967
Sudden Country5 November 1967
A Hanging Offense12 November 1967
The Price of Revenge19 November 1967
Widow from Red Rock 26 November 1967
Mark of the Turtle10 December 1967
The Terrorist 17 Deember 1967
The Firing Wall 31 December 1967
The Assassins 7 January 1968
Survival14 January 1968
Gold Is Where You Leave It21 January 1968
The Kinsman 28 January 1968
Champion of the Western World4 February 1968
Ride the Savage Land11 February 1968
Bad Day for a Thirst18 February 1968
Tiger by the Tail25 February 1968
The Peacemaker 3 March 1968
The Hair Hunters10 March 1968
A Joyful Noise 24 March 1968
Threshold of Courage31 March 1968
Season Two
The Stallion20 September 1968
Ten Little Indians27 September 1968
Follow Your Heart4 October 1968
Tornado Frances11 October 1968
The Covey18 October 1968
The Promised Land25 October 1968
Ebenezer1 November 1968
North to Tucson8 November 1968
The Deceivers15 November 1968
The Buffalo Soldiers22 November 1968
For What We Are About to Receive29 November 1968
A Way of Justice13 December 1968
Our Lady of Guadalupe20 December 1968
Sea of Enemies3 January 1969
Shadow of the Wind10 January 1969
No Irish Need Apply17 January 1969
The Last Hundred Miles24 January 1969
The Glory Soldiers31 January 1969
Feather of an Eagle7 February 1969
Once on a Day in Spring14 February 1969
Stinky Flanagan21 February 1969
Surtee28 February 1969
A Fella Named Kilroy7 March 1969
No Bugles, No Drums14 March 1969
The Lion Sleeps28 March 1969
For the Love of Carlos4 April 1969
Season Three
Time of Your Life19 September 1969
A Time to Laugh, A Time to Cry26 September 1969
The Brothers Cannon3 October 1969
A Piece of Land10 October 1969
Bad Day for a Bad Man17 October 1969
To Stand for Something More24 October 1969
Trail to Nevermore31 October 1969
Apache Trust7 November 1969
Lady Fair14 November 1969
The Lost Ones21 November 1969
The Legacy28 November 1969
Alliance12 December 1969
The Little Thieves26 December 1969
The Long Shadow2 January 1970
The Journal of Death9 January 1970
Friends and Partners16 January 1970
Jelks23 January 1970
Guns of Johnny Rondo6 February 1970
Mi Casa, Su Casa20 February 1970
The Lieutenant27 February 1970
The Reluctant Deputy6 March 1970
New Hostess in Town20 March 1970
Too Many Chiefs27 March 1970
Auld Lang Syne20 April 1970
Generation17 April 1970
No Trouble at All5 May 1970
Season Four
An Anger Greater than Mine18 September 1970
Spokes25 September 1970
Only the Bad Come to Sonora2 October 1970
Wind9 October 1970
A Matter of Survival16 October 1970
It Takes a Smart Man23 October 1970
A Good, Sound Profit30 October 1970
Too Late the Epitaph6 November 1970
The Forge of Hate13 November 1970
Fiesta20 November 1970
A Matter of Vengeance27 November 1970
Pale Warrior11 December 1970
The Badge18 December 1970
The New Lion of Sonora19 February 1971
Sangre26 February 1971
The Hostage5 March 1971
A Man to Match the Land

12 March 1971

Karon Hollis

Page Last Updated Sunday, February 13, 2005 at 12:30:11